Cheshire Phoenix win the Mike Burton Invitational

by Vlad Ionasc

The new-look Nix got off to a great start as they finished the tournament with a 3-1 record, which was enough to crown them champions ahead of the Glasgow Rocks (2-2 record) and Bristol Flyers (1-3 record).

Ben Thomas’ team enjoyed a perfect opening day as they defeated the Rocks 63-59 and the Flyers 64-59, with the likes of Teddy Okereafor, Kyle Carey, Namon Wright and Josh McSwiggan making some huge plays down the stretch in both fixtures.

The hosts clinched the trophy on the second day of the tournament with an emphatic 63-49 victory over the Rocks.

Cheshire dropped the final game of the tournament against the Flyers 56-64, however they still finished the tournament with an impressive 3-1 record & a trophy in the bag!

Carey was rewarded with the MVP award for his sublime performances on both days of the tournament.

Photo by Adam Day



Share this post