2022-23 British Basketball League fixtures announced

2022-23 British Basketball League fixtures announced

The countdown to another showstopping season of British Basketball League (BBL) action can begin as the fixtures for 2022-23 campaign were announced today. 

The curtain will rise on the new season on Friday September 23rd, with six clubs opening the BBL Championship season. 

In the opening round of matches Bristol Flyers host Manchester Giants, Sheffield Sharks take on London Lions and Surrey Scorchers meet Cheshire Phoenix.

The fixtures come thick and fast, with a repeat of last season’s Play-off Final scheduled for the second weekend of the campaign with last season’s champions Leicester Riders doing battle with London Lions. 

Elsewhere the BBL Cup gets underway on October 2nd as teams battle it out once again to make the showpiece final at Birmingham’s Utilita Arena on Sunday January 29th. Meanwhile the BBL Trophy begins on Friday January 13th, with the final set to take place in late March, with the exact date and venue to be confirmed in due course. 

The six non BBL sides entering the BBL Trophy this season will be:

  • Basketball Wales
  • Derby Trailblazers
  • Nottingham Hoods
  • St Mirren
  • Thames Valley Cavaliers
  • Worthing Thunder

Earlier this month, the British Basketball League announced that 2022-23 Championship will follow a new format, with each side facing each other on four occasions throughout the campaign. You can read more about the changes to this year’s format across the Championship, Cup and Trophy by clicking HERE. 

The season will reach its conclusion with the end of season Play Off Finals scheduled to take place on Sunday 14th May at The O2, London. 

British Basketball fans can catch all of the action throughout the season on Sky Sports Arena, Sky Sports YouTube Channel and the BBL Player. 

The first half of the Sky TV schedule is as follows, with broadcasts commencing at 7:30pm, and games tipping at 7:45pm:

Date TV Home TV Away
23/09/2022 Sheffield Sharks London Lions
30/09/2022 London Lions Leicester Riders
07/10/2022 Manchester Giants Cheshire Phoenix
14/10/2022 Sheffield Sharks Newcastle Eagles
28/10/2022 Newcastle Eagles Plymouth City Patriots
04/11/2022 Manchester Giants London Lions
11/11/2022 Glasgow Rocks Surrey Scorchers
18/11/2022 Leicester Riders Sheffield Sharks
02/12/2022 Newcastle Eagles Cheshire Phoenix
09/12/2022 Leicester Riders Glasgow Rocks
16/12/2022 London Lions Bristol Flyers
23/12/2022 Manchester Giants Leicester Riders


Share this post